SIG Sauer 556 Arms Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been struggling to get my 556 to hold zero and I think I have now found out why. My front sight had a little play in it, obviously not a good thing so I just pulled it and measured the width of the dovetail on the sight and it was .573 in width, then I measured the width of the dovetail on my front block and it was .598. I am no engineer but 25 thousands seems like a fair amount of play for a front sight.

So the question is, do I just need to get another front sight and hope that it is the proper width? Obviously I will mic it before I buy to make sure but are there any other options anyone can think of before I plop down another c-note+ on a new front sight, again.

·
Registered
278 Posts
It depends if the sight is tight after tightening the mounting screw.
If it is, sounds like the screw is getting loose as you fire the rifle. Some loctite on the screw should fix the problem.
If it's still loose after tightening the screw, call MI for a replacement since the sight has a lifetime warranty.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't think I did a very good job of explaining. Even with the screw tight, the sight can move slightly from side to side since its dovetail is not as wide as the slot on the gas block.

Maybe a pic will help, as you can see, there is a slight lip on the gas block where the sight does not completely cover, it is flush on the other side.

·
Registered
278 Posts
Since it's loose even with the screw tightened, sounds like you got a defective sight.
Call MI, you should be able to get a replacement no problem.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Are those front sights on the same plane as Mil spec AR sights or they regular Popsicle back sights that comes with a SIG?

It looks like the back of the gas block might be cracked. Its hard to see.
that could couse some movement.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·