Can't get a 556A1to group | SIG Sauer 556 Forum

Can't get a 556A1to group

Discussion in '556 Discussions' started by sherpa1d, Jun 9, 2014.

1. sherpa1d

sherpa1d New Member

First a quick bit about me; I'm a 12-year active duty Staff Sergeant in the Army. I'm not an expert shooter by any means but I can zero my M4 with iron sites in 9 to 12 rounds with all groups in a 1 inch diameter or less at 25-meters and I'm pretty good at coaching others through zeroing and qualifying as well.

My problem is my dad got a Sig 556 A1, 16-inch barrel, fix front site and the diopter rear site. I went to help zero it for him and I can't get crap for groups. We were shooting off a table with sandbags at approx 25 meters at an M4 zero targets. Only once did I get a 2.5inch group, the group placement was never consistent, one would be lower left about 4-in off center, make some adjustments and it would be close, shoot again with no adjustments and it would be off low right off the paper. I only even attempted to make adjustments for the hell of it because I never got a truegroup consistent enough to adjust from.

I'll admit I've never used these type of sites before, but heck, if I'm keeping the same site picture my grouping should be consistent. I don't want to go running and say manufacturer error, I know Sig makes good stuff.

2. Bosley

Bosley Active Member

556 a1? is this something someone put together? i think there's only a 556 and a 551-a1.

you should be able to get a reasonable group at 25m, but i've found that they don't like lc193s--they seem to be all over the place w/no rhyme nor reason. get a box of a few different brands of ammo and try them to find out what they like and do the bbl break in, copper solvent/rod/swab ever 5 shots, then 10 until about 70 or so i'd guess.